ARS Plains area and species map

The Plains ARS region includes Colorado, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, and Wyoming. This area includes the following species that are part of Breeding Insight: oat, pecan, and sugar beet.

All species and programs included in Breeding Insight are nominated and approved by the USDA-ARS Office of National Programs.

Discover more about the breeding programs for each of these species and their role in U.S. agriculture.

Midwest     Plains

oat growing in a field


Sugar beet (Coming soon)

Pacific West       Plains       Midwest

Northeast         Phase 3